CentOS 7 “Set Up Enterprise Login” After Update And Reboot

Home » CentOS » CentOS 7 “Set Up Enterprise Login” After Update And Reboot
CentOS 2 Comments

Dear Experts,

Something went astray with one of my systems. Large number of updates were installed on it all at once at some point. Then after system was rebooted it does strange thing I haven’t seen on other systems. The machine is set up to boot into graphic login (“runlevel 5” to say it using outdated language). But before giving login screen upon (re)boot it tries to walk you through set of screens similar to first login to newly created account. However, along that it forces to to “Set Up Enterprise Login“, and there is no way to bypass that, or kill this thing to get graphic login screen.

As of this moment I suspect that something went astray during big update. I’m not excluding system compromise, however as of this moment this seems unlikely, as this system while online is constantly watched for “system integrity” (i.e. all files that only root should be able to touch are monitored for their checksums, etc.) and I would be alerted earlier were anything wrong.

Rolling back big update (using yum history) failed, I am going to restore all on the box to the state before that big update (and I also can just wipe the drive and reinstall the system). So I kind of have ways out.

Still, if anyone can shed some light onto what could have happened, or what could have accidentally get changed, it would be really great.

I can SSH to the box, and I can switch it to “runlevel 3” and back…

Thanks in advance to everybody who will respond for your insights!

Valeri

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Valeri Galtsev Sr System Administrator Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics University of Chicago Phone: 773-702-4247
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

2 thoughts on - CentOS 7 “Set Up Enterprise Login” After Update And Reboot

  • I ran into the “first boot” (though not “set up enterprise login”)
    issue after C-7 updates in mid-september. This only happened on one of three C-7/mate desktop machines.

    With “first boot” I went through the process, including setting up an account, that was added to wheel as a part of the process. I then logged out of that and was able to get into my regular account (via the gui) just fine. I removed that spurious account and cleaned things up, but ended up in “first boot” again the next time the machine was rebooted. So, I’ve now neutered that account, but left it in place and haven’t run into “first boot” again. I haven’t been able to figure out what caused this, yet.

LEAVE A COMMENT